Presidential Election 2017: Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar Has Cast His Vote

Posted July 18, 2017

Since the election is through a secret ballot, the parties can not issue a whip to their members to vote for a particular candidate.

Two ballot boxes along with ballot papers in two colours arrived in Bengaluru at the Vidhana Soudha on Sunday from Delhi.

Ram Nath Kovind was the presidential candidate of BJP-led NDA.

President Pranab Mukherjee demits office on July 25. A candidate will need 50 percent-plus votes, which is around 5,49,452 votes, to be elected as the next President of Republic of India. The president of this most populous representative democracy in the world is elected by an electoral college consisting elected members of state assembly houses (MLA) and both the houses of parliament (Rajya Sabha and Loksabha) not the nominated MP like actress Rekha, who is now a Rajya Sabha MP, is not allowed to vote in the presidential election. The halfway mark is expected to be 549,442, but that will depend on the number of valid votes. The value of each vote of an MP is 708 while that of an MLA in Karnataka is 131.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who was addressing an all-party meeting ahead of the Parliament session, said it would have been better if the President had been chosen by consensus. Her nomination, which followed Kovind's, was seen by many as the opposition's attempt to counter Modi's move to woo dalits. Posters have been put up at the polling centre to make the electors aware of the new rule, along with the do's and dont's. In all, 714 of them cast their votes in Parliament, while 42 MPs voted in the West Bengal Assembly. Among the first MLAs to vote was BJP MLA C.T. Ravi.

He said that 10 states - Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhgand, Nagaland and Uttarakhand, and Union Territory of Puducherry - recorded 100 per cent voting, and added that the rest of the states also recorded "almost 100 per cent" voting.

In Uttar Pradesh, voting for Presidential Elections concluded peacefully amid tight security. The elected representative of the Parliament and various state assemblies on Monday will vote to elect India's next President. MLAs have also begun queuing up at the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly to cast their votes.