Clemson, Oklahoma, Georgia and Alabama will vie for national championship

Posted Декабря 04, 2017

For the first time, two teams from the same conference - Alabama and Georgia from the SEC - are among the final four teams. A season where there isn't a consensus top-four.

Clemson University, the University of Oklahoma, the University of Georgia and the University of Alabama will play in the final four. Ohio State won the title in 2014, the first season of the CFP.

For the second consecutive season, the Big Ten champion is left out.

Oklahoma (12-and-1) handled TCU easily in the Big 12 Championship 41-17.

Ohio State (11-2) finished fifth in the selection committee rankings. "Now, I think a one-loss team should get a whole lot of consideration because they only have one loss". It is the second time the Tigers have been the No. 1 overall seed, as they also claimed the top spot in 2015. 7 Miami (11-2) in the ACC Championship. Saturday was the Bulldogs' first SEC title since 2005 and they're probably rewarded with the team's first trip to the Rose Bowl since 1943.

Committee chairman Kirby Hocutt said the Iowa loss hurt Ohio State and the Buckeyes were not close enough to the Tide for the Big Ten championship result - a 27-21 win over previously unbeaten Wisconsin - to matter. And it was a pretty significant loss at that.

Ohio State can only blame itself for missing this year's College Football Playoff: Two losses - especially an ugly one to unranked Iowa - knocked the Buckeyes out of contention.

"I would say that if we lost to a team in our conference that was not ranked by 30 points that we wouldn't be having this conversation", Saban said in a late-night SportsCenter interview with Scott Van Pelt. "But I get it. Move forward and get around people you care about - your family and teammates". Ohio State won the Big Ten while Alabama did not even win its Southeastern Conference division.