Google loses historic 'right to be forgotten case' in Britain

Google loses historic 'right to be forgotten case' in Britain

Google's Gmail email platform hasn't seen much in the way of updates lately but that's changing soon.

As presented by TechCrunch, a small lock icon appears in the compose window for an email which represents "Confidential Mode".

The expiration date of the self-destructing emails can be configured to suit your needs, with time windows ranging from one week to multiple years.

An email sent to G Suite administrators confirmed that the redesign is coming, with improved access to G Suite apps, such as Google Calendar, from within Gmail; Smart Reply; email snoozing; and offline support. As the Google's I/O developer conference starts on May 8th this year, this new Gmail design will be an important part of the event. When someone receives an email sent with Confidential Mode, it will contain an embedded link that will allow them to view the secure content.

We didn't overlook the part where emails self-destruct in the Gmail redesign, don't worry.

More news: Azerbaijan President congratulates his countrymen

The new Gmail design is now being tested inside of Google and with trusted partners.

And you'll be able to put an extra layer of security on particularly sensitive emails - you can require the recipient to confirm their identity with a passcode (sent to their phone), or to log in a second time, before viewing the content.

According to the tipster who spilled the news to TechCrunch, there's already a help page for the feature but it's now not populated with any information - suggesting that the self-destructing emails of the new Gmail design is under development but not ready for release at this point in time.

Moreover, Gmail will also allow you to set a deadline for certain emails, which, when reached, will trigger the automatic complete deletion of the chosen emails.

As of now, it's unknown whether the feature is going to be compatible with non-Gmail users. Before sending an email, users will be able to specify a time frame post which, the email will be deleted from the recipient's inbox. If you access it from your email, it's mostly a simple check list with due dates. However, when it expires the email will disappear from the inbox. It is unclear if the "confidential" expiring mails will be end-to-end encrypted.

Related Articles